Syncing deletions is not an easy matter, especially when you share contacts with the team it can be very dangerous. That’s why we’ve been collecting feedback from our community for months and we’re now confident that we can provide a solution that is both powerful and harmless.

Instead of deleting a contact completely, trying syncing deletions. We will give it a ‘piesync_trash’ tag, that way you can easily confirm if the contacts should be deleted, and you can them delete them in just one click.

How does syncing deletions work?

We’re not enabling this feature on every connection just yet. Every Google Google ⟺ Capsule CRM connection and every Google ⟺ Google connection now supports two-way deletion sync. If you use Podio, BigContacts, OnePage CRM, Nimble, ProsperWorks or Highrise, a one-way sync is available from Google to the CRM. Let me show you how it works:

1. Google ⟺ Capsule CRM or Google ⟺ Google

If you’re using PieSync to sync your Google Contacts with Capsule CRM or another Google account, your deletions will get synced two-way.

Taking Capsule CRM as an example, this is what happens:

Deleting a contact in Capsule CRM

1) You delete a contact from your Capsule CRM list:
syncing deletions Capsule

2) All deleted contacts will be added to the Google group ‘PieSync Trash’, which we will create.
piesync_trash tag Google syncing deletions
3) You can then log in to your Google account, select the contacts in that group and delete the ones you want removed from your Google contact list. Make sure you do not delete the Google group. This will prevent future deletions to get synced.

Deleting a contact in Google

1) You delete one of your Google Contacts:
Delete from Google syncing deletions

2) We will tag that contact in Capsule CRM with ‘piesync_trash’:
Delete from Google syncing deletions

3) You can then log in to your Capsule CRM account, select the contacts with that tag and delete the ones you want removed from your Capsule CRM contact list.

2. Google ⇒ other CRMs

In this first phase of deletion sync we are syncing Google contacts deletions one-way from Google to these CRMs: Podio, BigContacts, OnePage CRM, Nimble and Highrise.

Deleting a contact in Google

If you delete a contact in Google, that contact will get a ‘piesync_trash’ tag in your CRM. You can then log in to your CRM account, select the contacts with that tag and delete the ones you want removed from your CRM contact list.

Delete from Google syncing deletions

Deleting a contact in your CRM

If, on the other hand, you delete a contact from your CRM, we will not sync this deletion back to Google just yet. The only exception at this moment is Capsule (see paragraph above). If you want to be the first to know when we’re syncing deletions from your CRM contacts back to Google, subscribe to our blog in the top right corner (or below, on mobile) and keep an eye out on your mailbox!

How do I start syncing deletions?

I’m a PieSync user on the Small, Medium or Large plan.

If you go to your dashboard, and click your connection(s), you will now see an extra checkbox: ‘When deleting a contact in Google Contacts, tag it as ‘piesync_trash’ in my CRM’. If you want your deletions to get synced, tick the checkbox. If you don’t, no action is required and we will not sync your deletions.

I’m a PieSync user on the Micro plan.

To start syncing deletions, upgrade to a Small plan on your billing page, go to your dashboard and click your connection(s). You will now see an extra checkbox: ‘When deleting a contact in Google Contacts, tag it as ‘piesync_trash’ in my CRM’. If you want your deletions to get synced, tick the checkbox. If you don’t, no action is necessary.

I’m in a PieSync trial.

If you go to your dashboard, and click your connection(s), you will now see an extra checkbox: ‘When deleting a contact in Google Contacts, tag it as ‘piesync_trash’ in my CRM’. If you want your deletions to get synced, tick the checkbox. If you don’t, no action is required and we will not sync your deletions.
Important note: If you still want to sync deletions after your trial, make sure you upgrade to the Small, Medium or Large plan, since this feature is not available on the Micro plan.

I’m not a PieSync user yet.

If you start a free PieSync trial now, this feature will be enabled for you automatically. Do you not want your deletions to get synced? Go to your dashboard, click your connection(s) and untick the ‘When deleting a contact in Google Contacts, tag it as ‘piesync_trash’ in my CRM’ checkbox.

Possibilities with this new feature

In a next blog post we will cover the possibilities that this great new feature brings, such as cleaning up the duplicates in your CRM! Subscribe to our blog in the top right corner (or below, if you’re reading on mobile) to make sure you don’t miss this valuable piece of content!

PS: We recently released The Ultimate Guide to Google Contacts: a free e-book with tips and tricks about contact management in Google. Get your free copy here!

Google Contacts E-book

Alternative Text

Annelien is radiant with positive energy. As a former teacher she relentlessly dots the i’s and crosses the t’s.
Always looking to improve, she keeps everyone on their toes.

Get new posts delivered to your inbox instantly.


Get 1 email a week. Unsubscribe at any time.